Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
5

Boo Hoo + Tick Tock = LOL

Stand up comedy about miscarriages
5

Hello Substackers!

It’s been a long time and you know what they say, tragedy plus time equals comedy, so, thanks to the passing of time…. here it is …. DeMisery morphing into DeComedy. 

I recently performed a stand up comedy set that is, in part, about miscarriages. It was my goal to develop material that acknowledges them and their often overlooked impact on women’s health. Nothing huge or momentous in the grand scheme of things, but hopefully a tiny step in a direction that might help bring this topic out of the realm of taboo and shame into, I don’t know what to call it… miscarriage casual?

Many thanks to the support and guidance of the super talented comedian and my extraordinary teacher Arlo Weierhauser; you should totally take classes with them at the Siren Theater in Portland, OR. 

What do you think about the idea of “normalizing the topic of miscarriage”? I’m especially curious about what that looks and feels like for those who have gone through the experience themselves or with a loved one.

Sending lots of love,

Liz

💓💓💓💓💓

5 Comments
The Demisery
The Demisery
Moving on from loss and shame - sometimes it's about miscarriages, sometimes home and career. I know I'm not the only one.